About PSFS

About PSFS

The Philippine Society for Freshwater Science is an organization conceptualized during the 1st Philippine Symposium on Freshwater Biodiversity and Ecosystems (PSFBE) held last June 7-10, 2016 at the University of Santo Tomas. The organization was then launched during the 2nd PSFBE held last December 11-14, 2018 at the Institute of Biology, University of the Philippines – Diliman.
The objectives of PSFS are the following:
  • Promotion of scientific knowledge in freshwater science or related fields through workshops, symposia, training, reports, and publications
  • Stimulation of scientific investigations and advancements in the frontiers of freshwater sciences and allied fields
  • Contribution to the development of education in Freshwater Science
  • Recognition and accreditation of members in different specialized fields of freshwater science

The logo

The water-drop-shaped logo symbolizes the importance of water itself to humanity and nature. This is outlined by the Philippine archipelago enclosed by an illustration of a flowing water (lotic) ecosystem. The two distinct dark blue-colored shapes that rest upon the base of the water drop represents groundwater and standing water (lentic) ecosystems, respectively. The light-colored line on top of these two illustrations represents available fresh water to be utilized in sustenance of life. Together, these signify the entire freshwater ecosystems in which the Filipino society must sustainably utilize and continually protect.

Interim Officers

Francis S. Magbanua, Ph.D.

Vice President
Rey Donne S. Papa, Ph.D.

Corresponding Secretary
Teresita R. Perez, Ph.D.

Recording Secretary
Jhoana M. Garces, M.Sc.

Jhaydee Ann Pascual, M.Sc.

Business Manager
Daniel Edison Husana, Ph.D.

Ma. Vivian C. Camacho, Ph.D.

Public Relations Officer
Milette U. Mendoza, M.Sc.

Liaison Officer
Jonathan Carlo A. Briones, Ph.D.

Division Heads

Systematics and Evolution
Jonas Quilang, Ph.D.

Conservation and Management
Adelina S. Borja, M.Sc.

Invasive Species
Adelaida Palma, DFT

Inland Fisheries and Aquaculture
Ma. Lourdes C. Aralar, Ph.D.

Physical Limnology
Augustus C. Mamaril, M.Sc.

Freshwater Ecology
Daniel Edison Husana, Ph.D.

Special Awardees

PSFBE 2016

Prof. Augustus C. Mamaril, M.Sc.
Freshwater Taxonomist Award (Zooplankton)

Prof. Roberto C. Pagulayan, Ph.D.
Freshwater Biology Mentor Award

Prof. Emeritus Macrina T. Zafaralla, Ph.D.
Community Engagement and Environmental Awareness Award

Adelina C. Santos-Borja, M.Sc.
Environmental Science and Management Award

Acad. Prof. Rafael D. Guerrero III, Ph.D.
Public Service Award

Prof. Ruben C. Umaly, Ph.D.
Special Award

Maria Lourdes Cuvin-Aralar, Dr.sc.agr.
Special Award

PSFBE 2018

Milagrosa R. Martinez-Goss, Ph.D
Freshwater Taxonomist Award (Phytoplankton)

Alejandro Enriquez Santiago, M.A.
Public Service Award

Teresita Ramos Perez, Ph.D.
Freshwater Biology Mentor Award

Adelaida L. Palma , D.F.T. (Ret.)
Environmental Science Management Award

Victor Salcedo Soliman, Ph.D.
Freshwater Conservation Award